New measures to strengthen corporate transparency

Corporate transparency remains one of the most effective ways to fight tax evasion and avoidance, money laundering, the financing of criminal activities and fraud. The Gouvernement du Québec has implemented several measures to strengthen corporate transparency, as announced in the 2019-2020 budget.

We want Québec to set an example in terms of best practices in corporate transparency. It is against this backdrop that the government has decided to consult the public on three initiatives stemming from the recommendations made by various internationally recognized organizations, which have been adopted by several countries to date.

Therefore, I encourage interested persons to read this consultation document and share their feedback, suggestions and opinions with us by submitting a brief to the Ministère des Finances. The submissions received will be analyzed and taken into account to develop the measures that might be implemented.

Thank you for participating in this consultation and helping us safeguard the integrity of our tax system!

Eric Girard

Minister of Finance

Nouvelles mesures pour renforcer
la transparence corporative

La transparence corporative demeure l’un des moyens les plus efficaces pour lutter contre l’évasion fiscale et l’évitement fiscal, le blanchiment d’argent, le financement d’activités criminelles et la fraude. Le gouvernement du Québec a mis en place plusieurs mesures afin de renforcer cette transparence, comme il a été annoncé dans le budget 2019-2020.

Nous voulons que le Québec soit un exemple en ce qui concerne les meilleures pratiques en matière de transparence corporative. C’est dans ce contexte que le gouvernement désire consulter la population au sujet de trois initiatives découlant de recommandations faites par différents organismes internationaux reconnus, que plusieurs pays ont adoptées à ce jour.

J’invite donc les personnes intéressées à prendre connaissance du document de consultation et à nous faire part de leurs commentaires, suggestions et opinions par le dépôt d’un mémoire auprès du ministère des Finances. Les mémoires reçus seront analysés et pris en compte dans l’élaboration des mesures qui pourraient être mises en place.

Merci de participer à cette consultation et ainsi de nous aider à préserver l’intégrité de notre régime fiscal!

Eric Girard

Ministre des Finances